Sister Spotlight:: Ashley! | The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans LLC


Last week’s rock star, Kirsten, chose Ashley for the spotlight this week! Ashley is a fun, beautiful woman currently training for a Half Ironman -whoa!

Name: Ashley
Twitter: @Ashes41
Age: 28
Hometown: Sonora, CA – Cow-town in the foothills of the Sierra Mountains.

Tell us about your family. I don’t have kids yet, unless you count my bully mix, Kona.  I’m an only child, and have amazing parents.  Both my boyfriend, Troy, and my parents are really supportive of my athletic aspirations and workouts, and I’m pretty sure without their support I wouldn’t be able to do as much as I try to do.

What is your favorite workout? As crazy as it might sound, my favorite workout is INTERVALS!  At the end of an interval workout I feel like I accomplished a lot.  Currently my favorite ratio is a 3 min work to 2 min recovery interval.  🙂

What do you consider your biggest accomplishment? I’ve got a semester and a half left until I finish my B.S. in Exercise Science!  Its been a long time coming so I’m really proud of sticking with it and finally getting the job done.

Have you set any goals for this year? I’m doing a half-Ironman in July!  I’m also doing a half marathon with fellow SJ sisters Beki and Kirsten on May 1st!  I haven’t done a lot of racing prior to this year, so all my races are exciting/terrifying!

Who is your best support in your healthier-living journey? This is a tough question to answer, I’m pretty much surrounded by supportive people.  Sometimes the food my boyfriend keeps in the house isn’t the best of choices, but we live 5 hours apart so there isn’t too much damage I can do 1 or 2 weekends a month.  haha

Favorite songs on your iPod right now? Ummmmm, is it weird that I don’t listen to music much on my iPhone?  I’m not a music during workouts person.  I do love Jack Johnson, John Mayer, Incubus, Nickleback, and Three Days Grace.

Who or what inspires you? I love to go out on a beautiful Saturday or Sunday afternoon along the American River bike trail, which is this awesome 30 mile-long trail through the Sacramento area, and see so many people being active, that inspires me.  They are people from different backgrounds, different shapes and sizes, some are out there alone, while others are out with groups of friends, but they are out there being active, getting fresh air, and enjoying themselves (usually).  🙂

Do you have any must-have health/beauty/clothing products? I’m very low maintenance, but I don’t think I could live without Moroccan Oil or Burts Bees Radiance.  Both are awesome.

Name 3 blogs you love to read! I’m new to the blog world, but I enjoy and and and

5 things we don’t already know about you!

  • I have secret aspirations to be a competitive age-grouper. (I guess not so secret anymore)
  • While I have enjoyed being an only child, I want to have more than one when I get to be a mom.
  • I used to horseback ride and ride a motorcycle (still have a bike) but they have gone to the wayside.  There just isn’t enough hours in the day to do all the hobbies/activities that I’d like to keep up with.
  • Running is my first love, but I tend to get over-use injuries when I do too much of it, hence the triathlons.
  • After finishing my B.S. degree I’m going on to do a Ultrasound Tech program.  It will be nice to finally have a vocation!

(Visited 6 times, 1 visits today)