Sister Spotlight:: Laura! | The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans LLC


Name: Laura Pankratz
Twitter: @LauraPankratz
Age: 33
Hometown: Suburbs of Minneapolis, MN

Tell us about your family. Kevin and I met at work and have been married for 5 years. We have a great little boy who is turned 4 in April and I am fortunate enough to stay home with him.

What is your favorite workout? I was going to say walking but in the last 4 weeks that has changed. Now I have to say my answer is Zumba. I’m bummed that I only have 2 more sessions left for this round and am ready to sign up again.

What do you consider your biggest accomplishment? Besides the typical answer of becoming a wife & a mom, I would have to say stepping outside of my comfort zone. Sounds strange I know but I am one who is hesitant to try new things.

Have you set any goals for this year? To work on being happy and make better food choices. If weight loss happens well then I’ll just consider that a bonus.

Who is your best support in your healthier-living journey? Honestly, it depends on the day. I would say between my husband and those who participate here at Shrinking Jeans, I pretty much always have someone to support me, tell me to knock it off, go exercise, or cheer me up.

Favorite songs on your iPod right now? Hey Mama by Mat Kearney, Stronger by Mandisa, Sweet Child o’ mine by Guns N Roses, Rolling in the deep by Adele, Beautiful by MercyMe, Sydney (I’ll come running) by Brett Dennen

Who or what inspires you? The “who” part of the question would be those who have done this journey before me. Getting to read their successes and struggles helps me greatly. The “what” would be my desire to live a healthier lifestyle.

Do you have any must-have health/beauty/clothing products? A good food scale, a good pair of tennis shoes, and a comfy pair of workout pants (love my danskin capris).

Name 3 blogs you love to read!

All the Prior Fat Girl blogs
Kelly’s Korner
These Prices

5 things we don’t already know about you!

1) I almost changed my college major during my last semester. Yeah, I quickly realized that would not be a good choice as I wanted to just be done. 2) I am a big introvert and large groups freak me out. 3) Weight loss is a struggle for me. Seems like 1 step forward, 2 steps back. 4) I’ve been pop (soda for you non-Minnesotans, lol) free for almost a year

5) I’m learning how to sew and want to learn to knit.